The W Hayward Morris Award for Interior Architecture

Winner: Ben Chifley Building, by Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp

Images Andrew Chung

Saturday night marked a big night for Canberra’s architects: the ACT Architecture Awards. And oh boy, did we have a fabulous time! We donned our architect’s uniform – LBD, black suit, just black, in general really – and talked the talk like the best of them.

Hosted at the National Arboretum, we celebrated the very best of what Canberra has been creating over the past year, and shared an insight into what makes Canberra architecture so outstanding. It was so inspiring to be in a room full of creative people so dedicated to their craft and dedicated to Canberra.

If you’re questioning the existence of such excellent architecture in Canberra, our own Australian Institute of Architects ACT chapter President, Rob Henry, couldn’t have said it better: “ACT architecture has seen a revival in the past few years with some world-class projects coming to fruition… It is an exciting time to see the role the profession can play in making Canberra’s spaces better for locals and visitors alike.”

Here are some of the best of best from the awards night, and the best part is they’re all in our own backyard – you can go visit one anytime you like.

By Sienna Maill

The Canberra Medallion (the highest award of the night)

Winner: Bowen Place Crossing, by Lahznimmo Architects

Image Ian Marshal

The Enrico Taglietti Award for Educational Architecture

Winner: St John Paul II College, by Collins Caddaye Architects

Image Stefan Postles

Award for Sustainable Architecture

Winner: Westside Acton, by Cox Architecture

Image Rodrigo Vargas

Award for Commercial Architecture & The Light in Architecture, Interior Architecture

Winner: Canberra Airport Hotel, by Bates Smart

Image Kiernan May

The Malcolm Moir and Heather Sutherland Award for Residential Architecture Houses (New)

Winner: King House, by Cox Architecture

Image Ben Wrigley

Award for Residential Architecture (Alterations and Additions)

Winner: Clerestory House, by Rob Henry Architects

Image Lightstudies

Award for Residential Architecture Multiple Housing

Winner: Common Ground Housing, by Collins Caddaye Architects

Image Stefan Postles

Award for Small Project Architecture

Winner: AG House, by Ben Walker Architects

Image LightStudies

Award for Enduring Architecture

Winner: Rivendell, by Laurie Virr, 1975

For a full list of winners, check out the ACT Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects.